ORGANISATION

The Leibniz Institute for Research on Society and Space is conducting problem-oriented basic research on development capacity, versatility and adaptability of space and thus the spatial dimension of social action in local, national and international relations. The cooperation of the five research departments of the IRS focuses on the central fields of research on society and space:

Dynamics of Economic Spaces

Institutional Change and Regional Public Goods

Dynamics of Communication, Knowledge and Spatial Development

Regeneration of Cities and Towns

Department for Historical Research

and

Scientific Collections for the History of Building and Planning in the GDR

Research on society and space at IRS is based on the interdisciplinary expertise of the approximately 40 researchers of the disciplines economic and social geography, political sciences, social sciences, planning sciences, historical sciences as well as art history and architecture history.

As an non-university research institute and member of the Leibniz Association the IRS is scientifically independent. The basic funding is made by grants from the state of Brandenburg together with the federal government and the governments of the other states according to the implementation agreement of the Joint Science Conference about the common funding of the federal government and the federal states. The IRS is perceiving its statutory tasks under private law in the legal form of a registered association.

Leibniz Association

Photo: © Dahabian/shutterstock.de

ORGANISATION

Das Leibniz-Institut für Raumbezogene Sozialforschung betreibt problemorientierte Grundlagenforschung zur Entwicklung, Wandlungs- sowie Anpassungsfähigkeit von Räumen und damit der räumlichen Dimension sozialen Handelns in regionalen, nationalen und internationalen Zusammenhängen. Die Zusammenarbeit in den fünf Forschungsabteilungen des IRS fokussieren auf zentrale Forschungsfelder Raumbezogener Sozialforschung:

Dynamiken von Wirtschaftsräumen

Institutionenwandel und regionale Gemeinschaftsgüter

Kommunikations- und Wissensdynamiken im Raum

Regenerierung von Städten

Historische Forschungsstelle

und

Wissenschaftliche Sammlungen zur Bau- und Planungsgeschichte der DDR

Raumbezogene Sozialforschung am IRS basiert auf der interdisziplinären Expertise der rund 40 Wissenschaftler/innen aus den Fachdisziplinen der Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeographie, Politikwissenschaft, Soziologie, Planungswissenschaft, Geschichtswissenschaft sowie der Kunst- und Architekturgeschichte.

Als außeruniversitäres Forschungsinstitut und Mitglied der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft ist das IRS wissenschaftlich unabhängig. Die Grundfinanzierung erfolgt über Zuwendungen des Landes Brandenburg gemeinsam mit dem Bund und den anderen Ländern nach Maßgabe der Ausführungsvereinbarung zum GWK-Abkommen über die gemeinsame Förderung des Bundes und der Länder. Das IRS nimmt seine satzungsgemäßen Aufgaben privatrechtlich in der Rechtsform eines eingetragenen Vereins wahr.

Leibniz-Gemeinschaft

Foto: © Dahabian/shutterstock.de